Uncategorized

The Cleanskin by Laura Bloom

IMG_4136[1]

The Cleanskin
Laura Bloom
The Author People
2016, 304pages
Copy via my Local Library

You know sometimes you are browsing in the library and you see a book and you have no idea what its about but you pick it up and put it in your library bag regardless? Well this book? It was one of those moments.  In truth though when I did read the full blurb on Goodreads I knew I had to read it because there is no book about the Troubles in Belfast that I can not read, so when I learned there was a lose connection to that it went straight to the top of my TBR.

Halley has moved to Mullimbimby in Northern NSW to escape her past, she has changed her name, she is married and has a teenage son who have no idea of her past. Then one day Aidan arrives in town, he is the younger brother of your first love Dom and the unresolved history she has.

The story takes place over multiple locations, time periods and characters. The perspective is coming from Halley and Aidan and we see the plot reveal itself through their recollections and as new facts reveal themselves.  Aidan is the younger brother of Halley’s first love so we learn about it, there troubled elder brother Liam and what happened to their Father.  They grew up in Belfast, a Catholic family during the 70’s and 80’s during some of the worst fighting in the troubles at that time.

The way the plot develops its difficult to really discuss anything because it could be a spoiler. The book has complex relationships, its very tight and tense, it reveals the impact of trauma on a family and the ripple effect throughout not only your own life but then to the relationships you develop along the way.  I was intrigued reading the book and I was compelled to get to the end and see what happened.   It was satisfying but I thought there might be a more, it felt like it scratched the surface and I wanted to know more. So that probably is a good point overall.

Overall  though it was a good read and its one I will be pondering as I wonder what’s happening to the characters now.

3.75 stars

 

Leave a comment